Diary update 13-14 April 2008

13/04/08

Sea kale cuttings – two of our three seed-grown seakale Lily White failed to show this spring. Thinking we might as well stop watering the pots, I emptied them out, to find fat, firm yellow roots curled around the bottom under the rotted crown of the plant. They were too curly to make cuttings as long as my books recommend, and rather less than pencil thin in some cases, but all the same I thought it was worth trying some root cuttings (called “thongs”, what fun), and felt terribly professional making my diagonal and flat cuts to differentiate the direction of the roots when I put the cuttings in to their new pots. It’s also, I believe, not the right time to take root cuttings, but if I did everything at only the right time, there’d be a lot I didn’t do at all…

Also, potted out 10 Victorian Purple Podded peas in a huge tub, and 12 Parsley Peas (which don’t grow so high) in another. Ideally this means at a later stage I can move the two tubs a distance apart and be perfectly happy that I’m saving pure seed – peas are one of the things this matters least with of course, but as I want to protect my few seedlings from the ravages of slug, snail and chicken, I might as well take advantage of it and separate them too. The parsley peas tendril/leaves are showing more clearly now – I learn from Rebsie of Daughter of the Soil that these may be known as hypertendrils – see http://daughterofthesoil.blogspot.com/2008/04/things-we-dig-up-in-garden-part-two.html for more on the offspring of parsley peas.

Parsley pea showing advanced tendril/leaves


14/04/08

Sowed about 40 stations of Parsnip Guernsey Half Long from the HSL and a tiny patch of Scorzonera from (ahem) Lidl. In another very, verylarge tub as there’s currently not a lot of space available in the ground. A few more parsnip seed will probably go in the ground though, as I have proven to myself that old parsnip seed doesn’t actually germinate (I believe a lot of things I read in books but sometimes it doesn’t hurt to try for yourself!)

And finally, ribes magellanicum – potted up 12 seedlings (one largish plant and 11 tiny ones) in to a multipurpose with John Innes. This plant, from Chiltern Seeds, has taken over a year to germinate, having been abandoned in disgust to the (cold) greenhouse over winter. I actually wanted ribes aureum, the golden currant, of which has many good things to say, but Chiltern ran out and offered these as a replacement – not so heavily lauded, but they sound promisingly tough: http://www.pfaf.org/database/plants.php?Ribes+magellanicum


One thought on “Diary update 13-14 April 2008

  1. Patrick says:

    I like the idea of buying heirloom vegetables from Lidl. Over the last year or so people have been posting about the gardening tools and supplies they got at Lidl, but never heirloom seeds!

I love to hear your experiences and advice - would you like to comment on this post?

