Garden Organic members experiments

I’m very excited by the arrival of four types of pea, all new to me but none of them, so far as I know, very new to theworld.  It’s for one of the Heritage Seed Library’s members’ experiments – comparing old and new varieties, in this case of tall peas.  This is a bit ambitious for us as our garden is quite exposed and an a hill, but we should be able to arrange some wigwams which I think will be sturdier than trying to grow rows.

The varieties are Clarke’s Beltony Blue, Hugh’s Huge, Simpson’s Special and Alderman…as far as I’m aware Alderman is actually quite an old variety and the notes do say “modern varieties of pea are increasingly bred to be small and compact”, so I suppose that HDRA/Garden Organic didn’t have a lot of choice in the matter! There is  quite a bit of information in the instructions so I’ll have plenty to occupy me until sowing them in, probably, March, as the instructions suggest. To whet my own appetite, some photos from last year of another tall Heritage Seed Library pea:

Victorian Purple Podded Peas in flower, "fruit" and drying for seed

Victorian Purple Podded Peas in flower, "fruit" and drying for seed

Less thrilling in that I wish I didn’t have too much to contribute is the slug and snail survey – not interviewing gastropods, as my better half has just suggested, but observing our population of different makes and models and reporting on control methods.

We’ve just begun fillng a second pot with dried, crushed eggshells to store until the spring, when we’ll get through a lot of them. Copper tape around pots, “moats” and sharp gravel have also come in to play in the past. And you haven’t really lived life to the full until you’ve spent a damp spring evening or three strolling the not-so-extensive grounds armed with a pointy stick, to the soundtrack of seedlings tumbling to the ground as their defenceless little stalks are bitten off in their prime.

I attempted to take part in the bee survey last year but much as I like them it didn’t work out. I don’t think there’s any danger of not having much to say this time round though!

2 thoughts on “Garden Organic members experiments

  1. Scattered Gardener says:

    Hello Fuggles, found you via blotanical. I would be grateful for some of your seeds for my allotment (just down the road from you I think, in Worcester Park).

    Peas and French beans would be great. Are the tomatoes disease resistant? I’ve not managed to grow a decent crop on my allotment, although my garden ones (in grow bags) are always fine.

    Enjoyed your post about labels…I find the plastic ones are always pulled out and chewed/scattered by the site’s fox cubs.

    Looking forward to hearing from you.

  2. themanicgardener says:

    I saw Garden Organic and honed in, seeing as how I devoted my last two posts to their Heritage Seed Library. Isn’t it a great organization?

    –BTY, I left you a message over at Blotanical–
    Kate

I love to hear your experiences and advice - would you like to comment on this post?

