Hummingbird Bakery Cake Days: hazelnut praline muffins

Hummingbird Bakery Hazelnut Praline Muffins from Cake Days

Hummingbird Bakery Hazelnut Praline Muffins from Cake Days

I’m quite pleased with this uncharacteristically arty snap, but that’s about as far as today’s baking joy goes…lovely book, nice ingredients, promising and technically correct recipe. But somewhere along the line it all went wrong.  I suppose I was overly hopeful given that cakes with nuts in, and sugar on top, and a lump of something in the middle, are some of my Favourite Things.  And there’s nothing technically wrong with these and I am happy to admit that it may be my skill, oven or ingredients at fault.  My better half thinks part of it may be down to Marks & Spencer’s chocolate hazelnut spread, which he has declared to be an “anti-taste” and he may have a point. The texture is soft and moist – slightly shop-cake, long-life-like, if you want to be mean – and I think a higher temperature would have set the sugar better.   Disappointing more than devastating, given the good things I have heard about the Hummingbird Bakery and how lovely the other recipes look. Not a complete disaster, and perfectly edible, and I will still – utterly selflessly and purely in the public interest – give some of the other recipes in the book a go, particularly the mixed nut tart and the maple and pecan layer cake – but today’s conclusion is spelled “mnyehmm hmm”.

On the bright side my better half has just harvested a small tree of its hazelnuts having spotted a fattening squirrel hiding there, so this week is going to be pasta with hazelnut pesto!

Apologies to the Hummingbird Bakery book, hope they won’t object to an obscure blog photographing a page of their book for comparison to my cakes. If I was on the Generation Game I am sure this would merit a “didn’t she do well” from Brucie though!
2 thoughts on “Hummingbird Bakery Cake Days: hazelnut praline muffins

  1. Nuara says:

    Oh no! But your photo looks so scrumptious! That’s such a shame – I made these the other day and absolutely loved them. My favourite recipe from the book so far (I’ve tried about 4/5). The sugar topping formed a really crunchy crust with the nuts and the gooey centre was my favourite part of the whole thing. I used Nutella – maybe that gives better results?

    As for other recipes in the book – I would recommend the Orange, Almond and Yoghurt loaf and also the Malted Chocolate Cupcakes (yum!). Haven’t had any misses with the recipes yet!

  2. Bugs says:

    Thank you Nuara – that’s very kind! I think you may have a point about the ingredients I used, M&S stuff is often very nice but much as I wish it wasn’t the case sometimes the branded thing is the best…(I have a similar love/hate relationship with Camp Coffee which for me is the only way to make a coffee cake taste right!). I have since done (but mislaid the photo) of the Maple and Pecan layer cake as small cakes…again, hmm…but the people I gave them to declared them to be the nicest cakes I’ve made and keep asking for them again, so it might just be me. You’re right about the sugar topping though and I like the sound of the Malted Chocolate cakes, watch this space (and your blog looks lovely, I will add it to my reader).

I love to hear your experiences and advice - would you like to comment on this post?

