Round and round the garden (beginning of June)

By putting “beginning of June” in the title of this post I may give the impression that this post will have sequels. Don’t hold your breath, though.  I’d like to, but I’m not notorious for my sense of commitment, organisation and perserverance (unless you’re thinking of offering me a job in which case, I’m only joking, I’m brilliant at everything and in my spare time I’m a team player with great initiative who helps orphans learn to speak to animals).

This isn’t a complete picture, partly because I don’t trust you (yes, you) not to track us down so you can steal our Chinese artichokes.  Tomatoes and peppers aren’t featured here as they are all in pots along the wall and awkward to photograph. It may give a feeling for the small scale of our operations this year; our back garden veg plot consists of three newly built raised beds and sundry large containers; we’ve not found the opportunity/energy/resources to do a lot of improvement to the soil so far and so this year is a mix of experimenting to see what does well and badly (so far, peas do badly due to sparrow “assistance”); reviving some of my seed stock (except for peas, obviously), and growing and propagating some of our perennials and trees.

Advice and ideas very welcome but *please* don’t tell me anything is planted too closely, because almost everything is and we are duly ashamed but that’s the way things are going this season.

5 thoughts on “Round and round the garden (beginning of June)

  1. Mark says:

    Wow, what a wonderful selection. I’ve never seen Siberian purslane before – is it one you recommend? And I LOVE galangal but have never grown it – is it easy? And what is Kang Kong? Sorry for all the questions!

  2. Bugs from Esculent Etc says:

    I have to admit we’re trying to learn to love the Siberian purslane. The texture is nice – fairly fleshy and tender – but there’s a hint of bitterness I’m not keen on. It is however tough & very pretty so from that point of view I would recommend it because it may grow better for you or be more to your taste. The galangal is my beloved’s project: he says it’s been much easier than ginger and comes up year after year as long as it’s kept frost free. Ours was grown from some from the Chinese supermarket so if we can do it… Kang kong is a member of the sweet potato family grown for its green shoots; sometimes called bamboo shoots although it certainly isn’t bamboo! We picked up a packet of seed out of interest when we saw it at Wallis Seeds this year, as it’s reputed to be very easy, and fast, to grow, but we’re obviously doing something wrong so I need to consult the bibles again (in this case, I think Unusual Vegetables and the lovely Ms Larkcom). If we work it out I’ll do another post about it!

    I love questions as it makes me think a bit more about why we are doing things and whether we could do them better (well, how we could do them better, there’s no “whether” about it!). Thank you!

  3. Rhizowen says:

    Kang kong – hot and wet. Pink purslane – best used as a nectar source for beneficial insects in my opinion. Does it grow wild around you? if not, it soon will. Lydford Gorge is chock full of the stuff, or was last ime I was there.

I love to hear your experiences and advice - would you like to comment on this post?

