Nice weather for…

…erm…well, not my plants, anyway. Since my June update there’s not been a lot of progress and even what there is I haven’t really had the opportunity to photograph.  Today’s photos have come out badly out of focus, which is mainly my fault of course but probably assisted by the dark conditions.  Squashes and tomatoes living outside have barely moved a leaflet in a month, we’ve eaten one and a half raspberries and identified probable blight on the potatoes (although we have at least had a few side servings of Red Duke of York and our own mint).

Most success is in the conservatory, unsurprisingly. Although just hatching a plague of greenfly we’ve got chillis setting on Lemon Drop and Czechoslovakian Black, and sweet peppers on Sweet Banana, with the Apricot habaneros looking green and healthy although yet to flower. I planned to be able to move the plants around to isolate them for seed saving but as that looks unlikely I’m going to have another go at isolating individual flowers. I have used tights before but it didn’t work out very well and I didn’t have to do it having the luxury of two greenhouses, but Real Seeds seem very enthusiastic about it in their latest newsletter – http://www.realseeds.co.uk/summerreport12.html – so I am going to give it another go, if I can sort out the little green winged ones in time.

Great germination from my Heritage Seed Library Daubenton Kale, last year’s Spis Bladene and new Asturian Tree Cabbage from Real Seeds, but again, they are not thriving with the constant rain, and otherwise there’s very little progress to report. Even the sweet potatoes which had been doing so well are sulking, and have something which I’ve identified, with the help of the very learn’d @rhizowen, as oedema.

I leave you with some terrible out of focus and dark photos to lighten the mood a bit.

3 thoughts on “Nice weather for…

  1. The Snail of Happiness says:

    It’s nice, though depressing. to know we are not alone in the lack of growth of outdoor tomatoes and squashes. Our lemon drop are only just starting to flower, but Lipstick sweet peppers are coming along ok in the greenhouse. At least we’re having a good year for potatoes and lettuce here in west Wales.

    • Bugs from Esculent Etc says:

      Thanks belatedly for your comment. I know quite a few people have now more or less said “that’s it, I’m shutting up shop til 2013” and I don’t blame them at all. We too got a useful harvest of small potatoes before blight began to strike so that was quite pleasing and we’ll be self-sufficient in chillis at least 😉

    • Bugs from Esculent Etc says:

      Thanks belatedly for your comment. I know quite a few people have now more or less said “that’s it, I’m shutting up shop til 2013” and I don’t blame them at all. We too got a useful harvest of small potatoes before blight began to strike so that was quite pleasing and we’ll be self-sufficient in chillis at least 😉

I love to hear your experiences and advice - would you like to comment on this post?

