Q. How long will my bramble jam keep?

A. Not very long at all at this rate.

We had to leave behind at our old house all our carefully nurtured brambles which produced a good deal of fat fruits that could be eaten raw or in cakes, pies and blackberry bread.

As yet we’ve not had the chance to do the same for our woodland brambles, and we have certainly picked a bad year for starting. What fruit we did manage to harvest was of dubious quality, ripeness, size and health (don’t worry, there is plenty more left for the wildlife as much of it is unreachable to us). The pips inside appear to have been whittled from mahogany, and all in all they aren’t worth eating unless you’re a Labrador*.  All the same we managed enough for a small batch of seedless jam….

Some of our brambles, not very juicy and a bit scraggy to be honest

Some of our brambles, not very juicy and a bit scraggy to be honest

As it turns out, it was well worth the grazes and grimaces involved in harvesting them, because the jam is absolutely delicious and we may well have already dispatched a jar and a half, some of it by the method illustrated below.

Scones with bramble jam (for the avoidance of doubt: scone to rhyme with bone, cream and jam the correct way round)

Scones with bramble jam (for the avoidance of doubt: scone to rhyme with bone, cream and jam the correct way round)

*please note this description also applies to cardboard tubes, feathers, socks, stones and straw.

4 thoughts on “Q. How long will my bramble jam keep?

  1. limmster says:

    I think they were very early this year (where I live) and we had many an evening of blackberry picking (although my 2 year old ate them all really!) but now they are small, unripened ones left. I’m not holding out much hope! The jam looks delicious!

  2. Bugs from Esculent Etc says:

    Thanks for commenting Belle 🙂
    Interesting that yours were early; I’d assumed you in Ireland got lumbered with the same lousy weather. I did wonder if I had missed a first flush this year – I’ve been on the lookout since July but there seemed to be a lot of cutting back along the lanes and I think quite a few fruits were lost the the flails. Fingers crossed for next year…I’m not claiming any WI level talent in the kitchen but I could* eat this batch of jam by the spoonful, scones or no scones.

    *I am saying “could” to try to pretend to the outside world that I don’t.

  3. My Little Italian Kitchen says:

    you have made a wonderful jam with an intense deep colour. My children love blackberries. I have managed to find a few even if not as many as the previous years.
    I’d love to take a bite at those scones!

  4. Bugs from Esculent Etc says:

    Thank you for visiting – taking a look at your blog I really appreciate your kind comments! I am heading back to examine the bread and Viennese raisin cake posts now – and to find out more about the corn you’re picking in the header image!

I love to hear your experiences and advice - would you like to comment on this post?

